For those of you who are fans of the franchise, Yes, Scream has now made the move from film series, to television series. More scariness to go around!

As someone who is a fan of the films, I was a bit weary about the new premise of the television series. No Sidney Prescott, a different scream mask? How could it possibly be as good as the films I grew up watching?

In all honesty, the series is not as great as its predecessors, though that could be the nostalgia talking. But it still is good entertainment value. By the third episode I was so entrenched in the story, I ended up binge watching all the episodes until the wee hours of the morning just so I could find out who the killer was, because I knew it would drive me crazy if I didn’t know that my guess was correct (and if you are a horror fan, you will pick out the killer pretty quickly).

Like the films, the protagonist is a high school girl, this time Emma Duvall, who becomes the main target of a mask wearing psychopathic murderer, who has gone on a killing spree in a small town.

Starting with an incident of cyber bullying that goes viral, the murder of the instigator reminds the townsfolk of a murder spree that occurred in years past, beginning the well worn tale of bad history, intrigue and execution.

Having ten episodes to tell this horror story has allowed the characters to develop as more than two dimensional figures. By giving the creators more wriggle room, the audience has been gifted with more in-depth back story, characters that become easier for the audience to empathize with, and a deeper sense of thrill and suspense.

Like the films, the show is a little campy, filled with pop-culture references, dry humour, and is very self-aware of it’s place in the horror genre. It is not big on disgusting viewers, but it’s violence is enough to keep people watching. Unfortunately, at many times the characters are bland or are trying a little too hard to be bad ass, and it makes them seem like very uninteresting robots, but that’s what you get when you watch anything about teenagers right?

There are exceptions to this however, and this time the exception was the character of Audrey and Noah, the best friend due who are the pop-culture gurus of the show. If you think Audrey looks familiar, then you’re probably also a fan of the CW show Arrow.

Although I did in fact binge watch this, I am not tempted to see it again anytime soon. I can wait for another season to come out, and even then I probably won’t re-watch the episodes again like I would for other shows. Worth a watch once if you are looking for something mindless to see, but otherwise, there are better shows to waste some time on. Give me the movies to watch any day.

I give it a 3 out of 5.

