To start, I’ve never been that big a fan of the Hunger Game series. Yeah, they are a little entertaining, but they are nothing I want to watch repeatedly. With the first one I preferred the book, the second one I preferred the movie, and the last book I only read a quarter of before I had enough and was surprised I managed to sit through the film. The entire concept just makes me think of a less bloody Battle Royale, though a more plot driven version of course.

With the Mockingjay Part 1 and Part 2, the same thought kept going through my head; if they had just merged the two films into one film, it would have been a better movie.

Both of the last two films were too long, and filled with endless unnecessary material. In the newest film alone, just off the top of my head,  I can think of at least ten different things that could have been omitted from the film.  The first half of the movie just seemed to be about filming propaganda footage for the rebellion, which the last film was all about. They really didn’t need to spend so much god damn time on it. We get it, Katniss is the face of the war and she needs to look like she is doing something. Really, only ten minutes could have been spent on this.

And while they spent so much time on this, they glossed over other things, such as the possibility that Coin wanted Katniss dead because she cannot be controlled. Considering that this was a major plot point, more time should have been spent focusing on it.

Despite this, there were some highlights, such as the sequence set in the sewers beneath the Capitol and the tsunami of black goo.

What mostly drew me in were the moral arguments. How far is one willing to go to end a war? Are the mass causalities really worth the end result? What is the cost of brutality? Of all of them, the latest installment is the darkest, simply because it faces these questions. It does not take war lightly, it questions how arbitrary the world is when dark and cruel people are trying to assume more power, and how, even the supposedly good people have such questionable motives that it becomes difficult to tell whose side they are truly on.

For a film/book aimed at teenagers, it certainly has a lot of big ethical questions in it that are centered upon the reality of the world. Which is actually good, seeing as how most of the YA stuff these days is more focused on love triangles and crap. Oh wait, one of the main plot points of The Hunger Games involves a love triangle. Nevermind.

So, to me, the film is okay. I’m sure there are many of you out there who will love the film, but I still can’t find a lot of interest in it. In fact, I have so little interest in the new film, I can’t be bothered to continue this review.

I give it a 2 out of 5. Though if I combine this with the first Mockingjay, I’d give it a 3 out of 5.

