Normally I would make a review the same day of viewing or a day or two after. It has been a week since I saw this film, and only now am I bored enough to write a review. Which pretty much sums up how I feel about the film. I only saw it because I was bored and there was nothing else to watch, and the film itself was relatively dull and overdrawn. Within the first twenty minutes I was looking at my watch, wondering just how much time was left.

It’s not that the film was bad, it was just….meh.

The film is loosely based on a true story that inspired the novel Moby Dick. Set in 1820, a whaling ship is sunk by a large white sperm whale, resulting in the crew drifting in life boats around the ocean for 90 days.

About 85% of the film is about the crew stuck at sea. It’s pretty dull, and after films like Life of Pi, sea based drifter stories are pretty dull. And the Moby Dick thing has been done sooooooo many times. Enough already!!!

This is just one of those films that prove that a great cast does not always mean a great movie. It is also yet another film that is visually pretty, but lacking in the story telling department.

I give it a 2 out of 5.

