What a year it has been for films this year! We’ve seen the resurfacing of some old classic favorites, said hello to some new animations worth obsessing over, and said goodbye to some actors through their last works. We’ve seen so many records broken, and so many flops it has been difficult to keep track of them all. I didn’t get the chance to review as many films and television shows as I would have liked, primarily because I am insanely lazy, but there have been so many good films this year, I doubt I would have had time to review them all anyway.

To round off 2015, I give you some of my favorite films of the year!

  1. The Martian.

This film was all around amazeballs! I saw it twice at the cinema, and I loved it equally both times. I really cannot find much of a fault with this film. It is equal parts funny and serious, and a nice variation on the survivalist story.

2. Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Honestly, this film is as good as the original trilogy. It was such a great feeling to watch an old childhood favorite come back to the big screen, with both the original cast and a new one. Science fiction has never been the same since it’s first release, and I hope that as the trilogy continues, we continue to see a change in how sci-fi is portrayed on the big screen.

3. Inside Out

I absolutely loved this movie. It was so bright and colourful, and so insanely philosophicaly deep that at times I wondered if kids would understand it. The way that emotions have been portrayed through various people is astounding, and as I watched the film, I kept thinking how it would be amazing to be used as a learning tool for kids on explaining various mental and emotional issues. There is just so much going on in this film, it made me laugh and cry at the same time in many cases and I can’t wait for the sequel!

4. The Man from U.N.C.L.E

This film was so underrated. Guy Ritchie gave us another great story, even though the plot was tried and used, it was still entertaining, and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about the interaction between the main characters Illya and Napoleon since I first watched it. A great spy movie, and one that I wished would have a sequel, but unfortunately, I don’t see that happening any time soon, if at all.

5. Mad Max: Road Fury

This action packed film was one great long car chase, with little dialogue, little change of scenery, and never paused in action, and it was brilliant. This film is a great example of how a great story can be told just with pictures and action. The dystopian setting in the desert was disturbing, and the willingness of the characters to fight for their survival was awesome to watch. A great thrill ride if there ever was one!

Because I can’t be bothered writing anymore, my other favourites include:

6. Jurassic World

7. The Age of Adaline

8. Fast and the Furious 7

9. Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation

10. Spy

Honourable Mentions go to:- Avengers: Age of Ultron and Crimson Peak

Worst Film of the Year:- Fantastic Four.

Seriously, that film was a piece of shit, and everyone involved with the project should be ashamed of themselves for making something so remarkably shite.

As for television shows, my top 5 for the year go to

  1. Sense8
  2. Daredevil
  3. iZombie
  4. Galavant
  5. Glitter Force

Honorable mentions go to:

  1. The Returned
  2. Dig
  3. Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt
  4. Scream: The TV Series

Hmmm, I’ve just noticed the theme of Netflix original series there….

Worst TV Show of the Year: I’m actually not sure, since I spent most of the year watching old shows such as House and Supernatural. I’d say it goes to Jessica Jones. It didn’t have as much appeal to me as I had hoped, and I only made it to the sixth episode before giving up on it. The only bright spot in it was David Tennent, but even he wasn’t enough to keep me watching.

Here’s to hoping that we see many more great flicks and shows next year! Bring it on!!!!

Cheers & Happy New Year!!!

 

