What can I say about this movie? It is not particularly a note worthy film, though it is entertaining. I would classify it as one of those midday tv movies you watch when you are doing the ironing or are too sick to be bothered to change the channel.

The film is a sequel to the 2012 film Snow White and The Huntsman. For some reason however, I went into this thinking it was going to be a prequel. Perhaps because the trailer showed the past of the Huntsman and a living Evil Queen. But I dither.

The story follows The Ice Queen (Emily Blunt) as she kidnaps children to build an army of Huntsman and takes over the lands to build her own kingdom of ice. She raises The Huntsman (Chris Hemsorth) and his wife Sara (Jessica Chastain) to be her best warriors, but when she discovers their love, she separates them, making them believe the other is dead. Fast forward a few years after the events of the first film, and The Huntsman is sent on a quest to stop The Evil Queen’s magic mirror from falling into the Ice Queen’s hands.

It serves it’s purpose of entertainment, but nothing about it really sticks to mind. I only saw the film three days ago and I’m struggling to remember much about it. What I do remember is this;

  1. The Ice Queen and The Evil Queen’s costume are gorgeous. Though according to my friend, The Ice Queen’s clothes were a little too Elsa from Frozen for her to like them. I however really liked her costume, especially when her eyes went all glowy.
  2. The Huntsman is a cheeky bugger, who is supposedly the best Hunter, yet gets his arse handed to him in almost every single fight in the film.
  3. The dwarves are funny, rude and dislike female dwarves and serve as the comical highlight of the film.
  4. The resurrection of The Evil Queen was confusing and did not add up to what I remembered of the first film. In saying that, it has been awhile since I watched it, so my memory may not be right.
  5. The ending sucked.

That’s pretty much it. The other notable highlight of the film is that Kristen Stewart is not in it. Oh and Charlize Theron’s evil laugh is spine tingling.

I give this film a 2.5 out of 5.

