I watched a pretty good movie tonight called He Never Died. Starring Henry Rollins, the film is about Jack, a man who lives a simple, and seemingly boring life, until his daughter Andrea arrives on his doorstep. Then, all hell breaks loose, and we discover that there is far more to this mysterious man’s life than we first believed.

The story is at first a little slow going, but remains intriguing. We watch as Jack trudges through life, repeating the same actions day in and out as if he has obsessive compulsive disorder. We watch as Jack speaks plainly to those around him, as if he is both surprised and bored by the questions and obvious statements that others make towards him. Whenever someone asks him a question, or rather, states the obvious, Jack’s answers are always short, to the point, and very honest. I honestly cannot recall another character who talks and acts so plainly, as if he has had the same conversations a million times before.

Once the action starts however, it is all uphill from there. The film becomes an intriguing affair as we learn about Jack’s past, who he is, and his relaxed attitude towards violence. To him it seems as if killing people is the most natural thing in the world. This indifference gives the film a comedic punch to the story. It was thrilling in fact, because it made me want to know more. I literally didn’t want to look away, and the one time I did, I had to rewind it to find out what happened. Not because I had missed a necessary part of the plot, but because I had been so drawn in, I needed to know every moment. Usually films are predictable enough that you can have a bathroom break and still know what was happening. With this film, I was not entirely sure what was going to happen. Although Jack’s actions at the beginning of the film were predictable, once we got to the middle of the film, it seemed as if the tables had turned, and he was anything but predictable. You sort of get an impression of what is going to happen, but you can never be certain because Jack is, for the most part, emotionless. He never gives an indication of what he will do until a second before he does it.

This is what makes this film so different and unique from other supernatural thriller/horror films. It left me wanting more. I want to know more about Jack, I want to know what he plans to do next, and there was a mysterious goatee character in there who remains a mystery.

Apparently they will be making a mini-series based after this film, with Henry Rollins continuing in the role. I hope they answer some of the unanswered questions there.

I give it a 4 out of 5.

Watch if you liked Shaun of the Dead, Hansel & Gretel: Witch hunters or Constantine.

Watch the Trailer Here

