The latest installment of the Star Trek franchise is fresh, fun and fantastic. For the first time since the reboot, we have a brand new story, not a retelling, with some pretty cool new villains, and some awesome new places. Granted, I have never been a dedicated trekkie, so I could be wrong and there are references to some things from the old series and films that I didn’t pick up, so these new places may not be new at all. However I don’t care. It was awesome.

The film is set around three years after Into Darkness. The Enterprise is halfway through it’s five year mission into deep space, when they receive an assignment to give aid to a ship that has been attacked in a section of space that has not yet been chartered.

The film started with a few laughs with a quick turn to sobriety, which set the tone for the rest of the film. It is light hearted, but with a degree of somberness that aids in fleshing out the characters further than the previous installments had done.  Unlike it’s predessors, the film does not focus entirely upon the relationship between Spock and Kirk. Instead we see how the relationships have developed between the rest of the crew, and it leads to a story that is intriguing to follow.

The character development I found most astounding was Captain Kirk, played by the delightful Chris Pine. No longer do we see a cocky and arrogant young man, but a man who has become a true leader who now knows his own limits. It’s wonderful to see that character development within the story.

That being said, some parts of the film did not make sense to me plot wise, however you don’t really notice until the film is finished and you think it over, which, overall is great, because you don’t get sidetracked by any unanswered questions that you discover along the way.

What I love most about this movie were the costumes for all the alien species. The amount of detail that has gone into these costumes is stunning, and I love how the majority of them are real and not CGI. CGI characters always throw me, so it’s nice to be able to see something so real, that you can imagine that these aliens actually might exist somewhere in the universe. Star Trek has a long history of trying to make things as realistic as possible within their budget, and I hope it is something that they continue to do long into whatever future the franchise holds.

The performances of the actors, was, as always, brilliant. Newcomer Sofia Boutella as Jaylah, is both badass and funny, which makes a great contrast to engineer Scotty (Simon Pegg), and Idris Elba as the villain Krall is so good, I forgot that it was Idris Elba playing him.

The film is definitely on my ‘Must See Again Soon’ list. Especially because I want to see the Yorktown again. That place looks so awesome.

I give this film a 4.5 out of 5.

Watch if you enjoyed any other Star Trek film or show, or anything sci-fi. I’m not giving you a list, we’d be here forever otherwise.

Watch the trailer here

